Starting Anew Again

Off and on I’ve been researching my family history for several years.  Every few years I tend to start over again for some reason: lost interest, hard drive crash, and so on. And this time is no different!  The latest hard drive crash occurred a couple of months ago and took with it my largest attempt yet at a family tree, rife with source citations, pictures, and document scans. It was a pretty devastating loss.  But, it gives me this new opportunity to begin again.

Every time I start over, I learn something new about this process.  Some new step I should have taken, some new bit of information I overlooked before, some new web site to aid in my research.  And as I learn these things, I sometimes think about sharing them.  So, that’s what this blog will be about — the re-beginning of my research and how I connect the dots.

Who am I researching, and where and I researching them?

Primarily, I am researching the Graham family of Searcy County, Arkansas.  That’s where I’m re-starting, at least.

My Graham line in Arkansas seems to be somewhat of a dead-end, too.  Which leads to another reason why I’ve decided to write this blog about my research. I intend to trick other people into contributing by giving them information!  So, by writing about how much trouble I’m having with my Graham line, I hope someone out there will present a piece of information that will break the log jam.

Before I go further, I want to thank Larry D. Watts and Gail Feese* for the contributions they’ve made to my research. Thank you, cousins!

* Gail has asked that I not publish online any information that she has shared with me, and I have promised to honor her request.  Therefore, any information that appears on this blog will be only from publicly available sources.

About Byron

Husband, father, student, USA Retired. View all posts by Byron

Got something to add? Please, leave a reply!

